Jupyter Notebook empty

Hi
I am brand new to coding. I am doing the Python course and have come to the Reggie’s Linear Regression project. I have followed all the instructions and have installed Miniconda on my laptop and all the add-ins including jupyter notebook. I downloaded the zip file for the project.
I navigate to the downloads folder and into the Reggies-Linear-Regression folder in Anaconda Prompt - I even check in the Windows explorer folder that the jupyter notebooks are there. Then when I type “jupyter notebook” in the Anaconda Prompt it opens a Jupyter Notebook in Chrome but it says “This notebook is empty”.
I don’t know what to do… please help
Thanks
Andrea

Is there a file option at the top of your notebook, you’d want to navigate to the existing .ipynb file (the skeleton one, not the solutions :wink:) and open it. The notebook won’t necessarily automatically open the correct file.

You can run a command like the following where you replace the “path/to” bit with a real or relative path on your own machine to the file: jupyter notebook /path/to/Reggie_Linear_Regression_Skeleton.ipynb if you’d rather start with that file open.

The tab in Chrome opens the jupyter notebook on the “Files” tab - there are NO .ipynb file in the Files tab - it says: This notebook is empty

I don’t know exactly how you’re starting your session but it seems to be opening in a rather odd location (an empty one). The typical “root directory” for the notebook is the folder from which you start it.

Starting it up in a sensible place would be the easiest option.

If you were to navigate to a folder and the invoke the notebook I think you’ll have an easier time, e.g.

cd ~/myprojects/python/cc/reggie
jupyter notebook

If not you can start in a base directory and work with the GUI from there, e.g. cd ~; jupyter notebook (this would show all files/folders under your username so you can just click through the folders to find what you want).