JS Challenges -- spread + matchAll = TypeError

Link to exercise.

It’s a challenge that requests that we create a subLength() function that takes 2 parameters, a string and a single character. The function should search the string for the two occurrences of the character and return the length between them including the 2 characters. If there are less than 2 or more than 2 occurrences of the character the function should return 0.

Now, I’ve tried to do it a certain way that I found on MDN and I really liked, but I receive an error. I will try to do it in another way, so please don’t tell me another way to do it, I just would like to know why is this not accepted, and if it’s something I should worry about in the future when I work as a developer.

Having said so, this is what I tried:

/ Write function below
const subLength = (string, charact) => {
    const appears = [...string.matchAll(charact)];
    if (appears.length < 2 || appears.length > 2){
        return 0;
    } else if (appears.length === 2){
        return appears[1].index - appears[0].index + 1;
    } else {
        return 'There has been an error with the input!';
    }
};

console.log(subLength('Saturday', 'a')); // returns 6
console.log(subLength('summer', 'm')); // returns 2
console.log(subLength('digitize', 'i')); // returns 0
console.log(subLength('cheesecake', 'k')); // returns 0

And this is the error stack trace:

/home/ccuser/workspace/assessment-5f8754a6e91ae500128deb08/main.js:3
    const appears = [...string.matchAll(charact)];
                               ^

TypeError: string.matchAll(...)[Symbol.iterator] is not a function
    at subLength (/home/ccuser/workspace/assessment-5f8754a6e91ae500128deb08/main.js:3:32)
    at Object.<anonymous> (/home/ccuser/workspace/assessment-5f8754a6e91ae500128deb08/main.js:15:13)
    at Module._compile (module.js:571:32)
    at Object.Module._extensions..js (module.js:580:10)
    at Module.load (module.js:488:32)
    at tryModuleLoad (module.js:447:12)