Jquery - appending a string from an array to a div

Hello, I am new to jquery and programmering. I want to add an span container in my html document’s div container. The div that I want to append to on my html document looks this:

<script type="text/javascript">

var test        = ['A', 'B'];
 var counter = 0;

$(document).ready(function(counter){
        $('#test').append('<span>' test[counter] '</span>');

-if/else here?

}
});
</script>

here:

'<span>' test[counter] '</span>'

to join string and variables together you need to use +:

'<span>' +  test[counter] + '</span>'

where you should place your if/else depends on what it needs to do.

I need to check if I am at the end of my array, so if I am at 1 (‘B’), I would be at the end of the array, then reset the counter to 0, so I can loop my array, making the text change in the div, if that makes any sense… I am not the best at explaining, I’m sorry :confused:

I want to do fadeIn() and fadeOut() events on them as well later on… if that is important knowledge

why use a counter like you did? You can simple make a for loop:

result = "";
arrayLength = test.length;
for (var i = 0; i < arrayLength; i++){
    result += '<span>' + test[counter] + '</span>';
}
$("#test").append(result);
var example = ['A', 'B', 'C', 'D'];
        textSequence(0);

function textSequence(i) {

if (example.length > i) {
                setTimeout(function() {
                    document.getElementById("sequence").innerHTML = example[i];
                    textSequence(++i);
                }, 1000); // 1 second (in milliseconds)

} else if (example.length == i) { // Loop
                textSequence(0);
            }

}

I need to this, just with jquery, since I want it to do jquery events on them such as fadeIn/fadeOut and change between the strings in my array :confused:

how did we get from the code you posted first to this latest code?