Jobs in Higher Ed, Government, or non-profit?

Hi all. I’m reaching out because I’m wondering if anybody has experience working in any of the aforementioned fields as a Web Developer or Software Engineer and can share their knowledge. I have been training at Codecademy for about 3 months and I’m going to do Thinkful’s bootcamp soon, so I’m planning on starting my job search in or around January of 2020, and I want to start researching different sectors where I can work. These fields in particular strike me for a few unrelated reasons, but I have found it difficult to find information about what they’re like for developers. Here are the reasons they strike me:

1. Higher ED: good environment to work in; Lots of holidays; slower summers; emerging field with respect to innovative learning technologies.

2. Gov’t: High impact projects that could potentially have high social relevance (thus, more meaningful); good benefits;

3. non-profit: Meaningful organization missions; High social impact; Less tech staff may mean more ability to work on different kinds of projects and have a higher impact/higher value role than I would at a company as a junior developer.

My assumptions about these industries could be totally wrong, but that’s why I’m reaching out to anybody who is in the know! I appreciate any thoughts or insight those with experience can give, and I’m looking forward to discussing. Thanks very much!

1 Like

Can’t speak much to (2) and (3), but I can offer some info about Higher Ed. I was a student web developer in college and worked alongside some full-timers.

For web dev in higher ed, you might be working on the main website that prospective students and parents visit, student admin tools (e.g. for class sign up), or even a research team in need of a website. Those are some examples, but there’s a lot more.

The full-timers I worked with didn’t really get time off during summer or winter breaks, but I do think the pace is slower.