JavaScript

I am new to coding (today is my 6th day) and I’m having a little trouble with JavaScript. I’ve only done the Introduction lessons and I’m already confused and lost. I was wondering if anyone had any resources or tips to help master the language?

2 Likes

Hello @deemomo.

Take things slowly, don’t rush, and don’t be afraid to review concepts that you’ve already done. It also helps to set yourself tiny projects as you go along, even if it is as simple as print a variable with my name in it. Anything to get you thinking.
Whenever I face a problem I do three things:

1. Think about what it means, and how I would do it on paper, or in real life.
  2. I write pseudo code. Pseudo code is just written instructions that are written like you might write code:
    write a function called 'x'. Inside the function check to see if "hi" is equal to "HI". If it is, print "yes"
    This is like writing instructions for someone.
  3. Finally, I translate the pseudo code into real code.

I hope this helps!

7 Likes

If you’ve never coded in a C language or similar Javascript takes a while to get used to, so don’t worry. If you stick with it, it will start to make sense after a month or two.

I highly suggest using an editor like Sublime or Atom as a workstation to code. It’s just really quick for catching errors and helps you visualize and format properly (although you probably have to manually configure them to compile js, but that’s a quick 5 minute process that is easy to google).

I also find it really comforting to work with a reference book by my side just in case I want to delve into a specific topic deeply or just browse generally. I’m not familiar with the best JS books but asking for recs here and on reddit/discord/irc you can probably get a bunch of ideas. If it’s a language you’re serious about studying, those 20-40$ can go a long way (and sometimes you can easily access the books on subscription sites like scribd.

5 Likes