JavaScript Syntax Introduction - Dog Years

Hi everyone :world_map:! I’m new to programming and would like to find people to discuss and learn together. I currently live in Spain and speak English and Spanish!

So now… some coding exercises from the Full Stack Engineer path. These are two approaches to the dog years project.

This is the default solution:

//Enter the human's age
const myAge = 10;
//The first 2 years count differently for the dog's age calculation
let earlyYears = 2;
earlyYears = earlyYears * 10.5;
//Substract already accounted years in earlyYears var
let laterYears = myAge - 2;
//laterYears count as 4 years in dog years
laterYears *= 4;
//Let's add up both calculations
let myAgeInDogYears = earlyYears + laterYears;
//Make all letter lowercase
let myName = 'Gustavo'.toLowerCase();
//Using string interpolation to embed var into a string and print
console.log(`My name is ${myName}. I am ${myAge} years old in human years which is ${myAgeInDogYears} years old in dog years.`)

And here is another approach I found easier and more straight forward:

//Human's age to calculate, human's name and a var myAgeInDogYears to store the result
const myAge = 33;
const myName = 'Gustavo'.toLowerCase();
let myAgeInDogYears;

//Simple if...else statement to separate between people age 2 and under and people age 3 and over
if (myAge < 2) {
myAgeInDogYears = myAge * 10.5;
} else {
myAgeInDogYears = (myAge - 2) * 4 + 21;
 }

//String interpolation to embed var and const
console.log(`My name is ${myName}. I am ${myAge} years old in human years which is ${myAgeInDogYears} old in dog years.`);

Appreciate any feedback! :studio_microphone:

Hey there, nice to meet you!
I think your solution makes an awful lot of sense to be honest. I assume they use that method for teaching reasons, but I find yours much more readable!