JavaScript if statement!

#get-help:javascript
Hi everyone! I’m new to HTML, CSS & JS any support would be much appreciated…I’m basically trying to display if someone is old enough to vote in the UK using the if statement in JavaScript. I can either display on the browser or console. I believe I am missing parts of code.

This is what I have done so far:
JS
Const age = 18;
If (age >= 18) {
Console.log(“you’re eligible to vote in the UK.”);
}
Else {
console.log
(“Sorry you’re not old enough to vote in the UK yet!”);
}

If true it should display the if sentence if false the else sentence if it makes sense?

On my console it only appears to display the true sentence?

Thank you in advance

hi @cloud3436942542 ,

your statement absolutely make sense. No problem about it. Just make sure everything is coded case sensitively will do.

P.S. Do tag this forum post with #get-help:javascript as well so it’ll be registered in that group of the forum in future/now

Hi estforesta

Thank you for your reply :+1:t2:
I have change the code for case sensitive but on my console it only appears the true Boolean?
Do I need to create a user input? So right now I only had e a JS file and the above code and once I run the program only has one input which is “you are old enough to vote”

Sorry don’t know how to express myself in a better way :grimacing:

You can refer to this link for the method of including the components to make your variable to store dynamic components.

const age = 18; // This line would need to change to the component to read from browser or console line if (age >= 18) { console.log("you're eligible to vote in the UK."); } else { console.log("Sorry you're not old enough to vote in the UK yet!"); }

Should you not understand, feel free to ask.

Perfect thank you for your help :ok_hand:

Hey estforesta, me again Lol.

Still can’t display the false statement on my console/output?

This is what my code looks like so far:

const input = prompt(“Please enter your age:”);