Is there an environment to practise?

Hi Everyone! My name is Millie and i’m very new to coding but loving it so far!

Im 3% into my web development course and wondered is there a environment where you can build code from scratch to practise and experiment what you’ve learnt so far?

Thanks so much!

Hi there, glad to hear you’re enjoying coding!

There’s a few ways you can go about doing it. At the end of most of the lessons you are presented with an empty environment on which you can practise, you’ll find this as you go along as well, some come with pre-made CSS and HTML templates for you to mess with. If you really want to get building from complete scratch, then I recommend getting set up with VS Code. It’s a lovely text editor to use, with a ton of helpful auto-complete features you can install. That way you can hold all the coding files on your own PC, and build whatever you want from scratch!

I have quite an extensive library now for all my projects, and it can be really helpful when as a database of sorts for code that you can quickly refer back to if you wish to reuse elements.

Alternatively you can also use something like repl.it, which is an entirely free browser based coder for practising. It works much like Codecademy’s editor but gives you the freedom of being outside of any sort of lesson. VS Code is worth setting up in the long run if you plan on coding for a while, but this can be a nice quick solution for testing code before that’s set up.

6 Likes

Hi,

Thank so much for your reply both of these sound perfect for what i’m looking for.

Is VS Code free to use and download?

Yep VS Code is completely free, as are all the extensions for it! It’s basically a fancy text editor with a built in terminal, although it does of course have a lot more to it than that.

If you install node.js you can also run javascript from your terminal. I find it quicker when I just need to make quick throw-away tests while writing my main code in the text editor.