Is_prime

Why does a function have to end the moment a return keyword is reached? Especially if you have a counter variable, don't you need to use the return to change the counter variable? Why don't you need a return keyword to constantly let each portion of your function return what you want it to to the main defined function. In the above example, don't each if and elif and else statement have to return a boolean to the defined is_prime function which the is_prime function that evaluates and returns to you main code body?

What am I doing wrong here?

because by default a function returns None at the end of a function, if we want to return something different we can use the return keyword to return something different at the end of the function

No, we can just update the counter variable (like any other variable), why would return needed for this?

this sentence is not correct, what do you mean? Can you clarifty your question with code?

Because I am an elementary coder I don't think I can clarify my question with code. However, I will try to reword it in English. It was my understanding that "return" returns a value to whatever it is nested in. In this case the if, elif, and else statements are nested within the is_prime function. Therefore, shouldn't the if elif and else statements have to return what they evaluate to to the is_prime function? And then, doesn't the is_prime function evaluate the booleans it received from each and every one of the if and elif and else statments, and then, using a series of logical comparators such as "or" return its evaluation to the main body of code, resulting in only one value when the function is called.

As to the counter variable concept, I not entirely sure what I was thinking, but of course we can update counter variables in functions. Sorry about that.

yes, so far so good

unclear what it is, a return keyword is always nested inside a function.