Is it normal to feel lost and stupid?

I am Studying at Full Sail University in Orlando, FL… I have recently taken a break because of mental health reasons, as well as starting a new job. I started on the Full-Stack Engineer back in 2021, because I felt that maybe Codecademy could explain more things in detail to me… and for the most part, I really feel that it was money well spent…

However I currently scored a skipping through on some of the things because I know a fair amount of HTML, CSS, and I have really picked up on JavaScript. However, I’m doing React Part I and Part II right now And I just keep on asking myself if maybe this isn’t a good career path for me. I go back and forth on if I understand it and if I don’t, my most recent discovery of Chat GPT allows me to ask questions and explain things to myself in detail in general detail or like I am a 10 year…

But I really worry about my future, I have never believed in the old saying “Some people are not meant for higher education” I also feel very lost and stupid when it comes to these things… Either I rely on the “get unstuck” button and help that build my whole code or sometimes it’s little things I was just off by a small amount of code.

I don’t know if that’s normal. I guess at the end of the day what I’m asking is anyone out there that’s completed any of these courses or that are here to help; Did you feel this way in college less after doing these type of things?

1 Like

I am a 45 year old who had given up coding (never really learnt it) and after a corporate job have been laid off and back to coding … I am always lost and feel stupid most of the times. The idea is to persist and no matter what - should get resolved one way or the other. Dont focus on being smarter , focus on finishing, persisting and repeating

3 Likes