Codecademy Forums

Is it just me or Python teacher suck?

I’m typically a fast learner, but I am having to read each very short section over and over again until I realize that the information that I need simply isn’t there. Then the instructions are even more poorly written out. End up getting almost half of them right by guessing, a small percentage I figure out reasonably easily, and the rest I just end up typing whatever in just so I can see the answer. It makes sense most of the time AFTER I see answer. I figured after seeing enough answers I could learn the style of the writer of the lessons… Wrong… I was a straight A student even when I was skipping class 70% of the time. In every subject. So I know it’s not me. Only thing I can think of is somehow I got incomplete lessons or it’s a really bad joke. Anyone else pulling their hair out and moving at a snail’s pace? … Or is that the whole point? The don’t want anyone to learn whole program before free trial is up?

If you would be a bit more specific, linking perhaps to a specific lesson** that you found to be insufficiently informative, and describing how your experience with it unfolded, your post might actually prove helpful.

** There are no doubt many, but just a single well-chosen example would be useful.

3 Likes

Being an A student doesn’t guarantee being a good programmer. Programming requires a quite specific skillset.

programming is mostly problem solving, looking at the solution is fine/okay, but then ask yourself the deeper question. How does the solution approach the problem? What steps? and so forth. Teaching yourself these thinking steps is crucial

maybe codecademy doesn’t suit your teaching style, you could try other sites to find out. (just google something like: codecademy alternatives)

4 Likes