Is it a bad learning habit to look at the hint tabs when I get stuck?

Just as title suggests, is it bad to look at the hints when I get stuck? I’m very new to coding in general and I have a hard time grasping it at times so I get frustrated when trying to learn/understand some of the material. Sometimes I don’t know why I’m getting errors and when I can’t for the life of me figure out what went wrong I open the hints or check the walkthroughs on projects. I wanted to know if this is a bad learning habit and if this way of learning this material is counterintuitive.

1 Like

Hi! Welcome to the forums :slight_smile:

I don’t think it’s a bad habit just as long as your process before solving the issue was constructive… i.e. you had hypotheses as to what needed to happen and then after checking the solution you take time to reflect on whether it was a trivial mistake or not. If not trivial, how to expand on it for future reference. And if trivial but recurring, what kind of things to look out for to avoid these mistakes (sometimes it’s just time and practice).

7 Likes

Yah, I’d second this. The hints are there for a reason; if you are resorting to them then just make sure you take some time to understand how and why they can be applied. You’re using them to shore up your own understanding rather than just to get the box ticked.

That approach is probably what you want even without hints; you could try to rush through passing tasks through trial/error and hints but it risks a false sense of achievement. Just try to be honest with yourself about whether or not you passed a task through understanding or whether you cobbled together something that worked but you’ve no idea why. If it’s the second then it will likely be worthwhile to take a little time studying the problem/answer and play around with the output till it all does make sense.

6 Likes