Is having mental block common when learning code?

hi! i hope the forum is open to random questions like this.

I am new to code academy and been using it for a week and a bit to learn python3 and get something under my belt and get a foot in coding. I do have some minor learning difficulties and i understand that i will struggle to understand some things but when i have something down i generally have it.

Is it common to be able to do something one day and just struggle and forget the next? i feel like i just have an off day where i feel incapable of understanding something or i just cant remember how to structure things. I have no idea if this is common or not i just wondered if other people get like this and what they do to get back on track.

2 Likes

Welcome, @itsnathanlevi ! :slight_smile:

Absolutely. And, that’s okay! :slight_smile: I don’t have a scientific study, but, I’m pretty sure that everyone experiences this at one point or another. Roadblocks are common when learning a new concept or debugging code. Coding is challenging. (It’s not my background). Taking breaks is necessary sometimes. So, walk away from your computer and do something else. For me, I find that if I work my brain in a different way–baking, crocheting, taking a walk, a solution comes to me, or I can understand a concept that I had been struggling with.
Practice & repetition helps when learning to code. Try to not get discouraged! If you get stuck, search the help forums here for guidance or post a new question. Because odds are, you aren’t the only one who has had an issue.

3 Likes

Hello @itsnathanlevi. To add onto what @lisalisaj said, try to some mini-projects (either ones from CC, the Internet or your head). This really does help you to consolidate the information, and also lets you find any particular areas of coding that you’re stuck on.
Happy coding!

1 Like