Is Codecademy free & what is the best free Text Editor or IDE

Hi all I’m 72 years Old so my interest in learning Python is just for my interest and not to get a job so I started learning Python at Codecademy and I have got to “Computer Science” and I can’t get any further. It appears as though all the lessons are Pro I don’t seem to be able to get anymore free lessons. Is that as far as I can go for free?
Also I would like to practice what I have learned. I have installed Python 3.74 on my computer and could anyone recommend if I should install a text editor or an IDE (is an IDE too complicated for a beginner) and what is the best free one.
Thanks in advance for any advise.

3 Likes

Hi @tera8187553565

The only Python-specific content on Codecademy which is currently free (at the time of writing) is the Python 2 Course.

The other Python modules, like the Python 3 course or the machine learning content, are Pro subscription only at the moment.

If you haven’t already done the Python 2 course, I would say it’s still worth doing. Just keep in mind that there are some subtle differences between Python 2 and Python 3, but the majority of the language is the same so you shouldn’t have much trouble switching between them.

2 Likes

Hi thepitycoder, thanks for that I will keep Python 2 as an option but I will look around to see if I can get a free course some where or even end up paying for pro but I have to investigate the prices because I suspect they are in US$ and not Australian which is quit a bit of difference.

Uh, I’m not sure about that to be honest. I’m in the UK, and the Pro pricing is localised into GBP for me. I understand your concern, though. :slight_smile:

@alyssavigil / @lilybird do you know whether the pricing for an Australian user would be localised to AUD, or would it default to USD?

No worries. As I said, though, the differences between Python 2 and Python 3 aren’t too broad. It’s little changes, like this: