Intro to Classes: Bonus - Attendance problems

Hi All,

I am a pretty new student to python and was working my way through the “intro to Classes” review: https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/lessons/data-types/exercises/review

I have had a tough time with understanding this lesson in general, but largely worked through most of the challenges, save the last one relating to recording attendance: " Add an instance variable to Student that is a dictionary called .attendance , with dates as keys and booleans as values that indicate whether the student attended school that day."

Looking through the forums I found a couple interpretations of this question. I built mine with the understanding that I would enter a dictionary of key : value pairs, corresponding to the date : Boolean recording if the student had attended that day. Those values would then get appended into the instance variable as an overall record of attendance. My code is listed below, all sections from other questions in the exercise were removed. The error I receive is:
TypeError: attendance() missing 1 required positional argument: ‘prescence’

class Student: def __init__(self, name, year): self.name = name self.year = year self.grades = [] self.attendance_days = {} def attendance(self, date, prescence): for day in self.date: self.attendance_days.append(day[0]) return self.attendance_days pieter = Student("Pieter Bruegel the Elder", 8) print(pieter.attendance({"06/20/2021": True, "06/21/2021": False}))

I know I am missing something(s) basic, but just cant seem to figure out what.

1 Like

Hello, @method3046985979, and welcome to the forums.

The error is saying that your method takes one more argument than you are providing. If we look at your method call, we see that only one argument (a dictionary with 2 elements) is passed:

Consider what your method takes as parameters. It appears you want a date and a boolean value.