Interpolation & string upcase

Hi all,

I’m new to Ruby and slowly learning the ropes, I have been spending hours in the last few days trying to catch up and I’m really not getting this (I’m sure it is obvious!)

I can easily output “My Name” using .upcase but it keeps throwing up issues and wont allow me to move on to the next challenge - any tips there would be helpful.

code
my_name = “Jordan”

Please write your code below this line…

…and above this line.

puts “My name is #{upper(my_name)}”

Instruction
"Write a method called upper that will output Jordan all in upper case.

Note that we’re passing the variable my_name as argument when we’re calling the method, that should give you a hint on what you need to include. Please don’t change any of our code, you can only write new code or reuse previous code.

Your output should read as below :

My name is JORDAN

Your method should be a template - this can then be used for any variables that are passed through it.

We know that a method will take this basic form…

def method
  # code
end

We add a parameter list to take any inputs…

def method(param)
  # code
end

Now we have to decide what our method will be doing so we can name it accordingly and set up the operational code. Your method will be named, upper and will take one parameter, a String type. You already know the Ruby built-in, upcase so all you need to do is write an expression in your method and return it.

Note that Ruby automatically treats the last line of a method as an implicit return so that keyword is not needed.

:disappointed_relieved:

hmm, still no joy with this, I think i’ve tried everything (known to me) it just comes up with errors.

Please post a link to the exercise so we can have a look. Thanks.

Does your method look something like this?

def upper(str)
    str.upcase
end

the full code looks like this:

my_name = "Jordan"

# Please write your code below this line...
def upper(
# ...and above this line.