Intermediate Python3 - New Teacher in Town

Looking for some help with task 4. I completed the first part.
I defined a Python class method to take a list of students and create a list of tuples of two students each of the ten total students, all possible combinations.
I am unable to convert that list of tuples into a list of tuples of tables of five combinations of the list of tuples of the two students.

I have not done this course (but I’ve been using Python for many years so) I will take a stab at this issue:

I think the issue is probably on this line: tables_five = itertools.combinations(two_students, 5) - if you run the code following that line more than once it will only print the contents in tables_five the first time (because on the second run the iterable would’ve exhausted.

Try this and see if it works:

import itertools
twos=list(itertools.combinations(list('abcd') , 2))

#twos:  [('a', 'b'), ('a', 'c'), ('a', 'd'), ('b', 'c'), ('b', 'd'), ('c', 'd')]

tables_five = itertools.combinations(twos , 5)
for table in tables_five:
     print(list(table))

[('a', 'b'), ('a', 'c'), ('a', 'd'), ('b', 'c'), ('b', 'd')]
[('a', 'b'), ('a', 'c'), ('a', 'd'), ('b', 'c'), ('c', 'd')]
[('a', 'b'), ('a', 'c'), ('a', 'd'), ('b', 'd'), ('c', 'd')]
[('a', 'b'), ('a', 'c'), ('b', 'c'), ('b', 'd'), ('c', 'd')]
[('a', 'b'), ('a', 'd'), ('b', 'c'), ('b', 'd'), ('c', 'd')]
[('a', 'c'), ('a', 'd'), ('b', 'c'), ('b', 'd'), ('c', 'd’)]

# print the second time and it wouldn’t print anything
for table in tables_five:
     print(list(table))

# fix tables_five = itertools.combinations(twos , 5) by wrapping it in a list - like so:
tables_five = list(itertools.combinations(twos , 5))

Just to keep things straight… Iterables are not consumed (exhausted); iterators are consumed. There is a distinction.

Hi Roy (mtf)