Installing Nano on Chromebook for Command Line, Lingua Franca project

I’ve hit a road block on task 17 of the project “Lingua Franca”.

Seems I successfully installed “The Terminal” onto my chromebook but whenever I try to use the “nano” command it says “-bash: nano: command not found”.

I tried to follow some instructions I found on YouTube by downloading nano-6.2.tar.gz from the nano website into the Linux files and then typing “./configure” in Linux, but got the error “no curses lib was found”.

I then entered “sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev libncursesw5-dev”, when that was completed I changed directory back to “/nano-6.2” then ran “./configure” and got the error “configure: error: write failure creating ./config.status”

Clearly I’m a complete newbie to all this and I’m going round and round in circles trying to get Nano installed! Pls help! TIA.

I’m afraid I can’t directly answer your question about nano, I’m unfamiliar with chromebooks so I don’t know what difficulties you might face when installing.

Easiest option:
What I will say though is that the text editor you use doesn’t really matter. It could even be a fancy GUI, the only thing you’ll want to be careful with is saving the file in something other than plaintext (sometimes this requires save as or similar). So for that step you might be able to skip the use of nano and use something you do have installed.

Medium option:
If you really want a terminal based text editor I believe chromeos supports vim. Now vim is a great text editor but it is not beginner friendly, it is designed almost entirely for keyboard only use (the mouse is rarely or never used) and many actions and operations are bound to specific keypresses that are not shown anywhere unless you read the manual. If you choose to use vim definitely follow some guidance to get started or you may find using it very difficult.

Unkown/alternatives: