In step 1 of this exercise, where should I create the table?

Question

In step 1 of this exercise, where should I create the table?

Answer

Add opening and closing <table> tags after the <div> element on line 17.

20 Likes

Why after div, why not after line 6?

2 Likes

I’m pretty new to this and could very well be wrong. I would think you would want it in the body of the html rather than in the head. We want the table to show as content in the body rather than metadata in the head. If someone with more experience could shed some light that would be great.

15 Likes

Newbie here so maybe a dumb question, should the <table> element be nested in the <div> or should it have the same indentation as the <div> nested within the <body>?

3 Likes

Please post a link to the exercise so we may better advise.

A table is a block level element so does not need a container, although giving it a wrapper means some of the page styling can be handed off to the that element, and style the table as needed for its own purpose.

5 Likes

Exercise: Create a table. link: https://www.codecademy.com/paths/web-development/tracks/learn-html-web-dev-path/modules/learn-html-tables/lessons/tables/exercises/create-table . Thanx for the quick response @mtf

4 Likes

As I’ve written it (mind, one needs to review the instructions) there is no container DIV. The TABLE is a sibling of ‘search’ and ‘nav’ elements.

6 Likes

Thank you sir. It seems obvious now (Im a few lessons down the road). Both your answers have very much cleared things up.

2 Likes

You’re welcome.

Aside

Even while this exercise creates a styled page, per se, the time devoted to learning about un-styled tables would be advisable, and well spent. The course explores things like colspan and rowspan, thead, th, and such, but only in brief on the grand scale of things. One would be well advised to delve into tables in full detail, before moving forward.