I'm stuck on Sleep Debt Calculator Javascript lesson>Step 9

Here’s where I’m at. I’m studying web development. I’m on Section 3:Getting Started with Javascript>Functions>Sleep Debt Calculator>Step 9. The link below should take you there.

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/introduction-to-javascript/projects/sleep-debt-calculator

I’m stuck on Step 9. In this step, it’s asking for the creation of If/Else statements. I did it exactly as the lesson & the help video stated. Yet I keep getting an error message for the Else statement claiming a syntax error.

I’m going to enclose 2 screenshots so you can compare what I did, & what the video hostess did, which is identical.

1. Screenshot Sleep Debt Calculator Step 9. (This will show you my project, with my code, & the error message on the right pane)

2. Screenshot Sleep Debt Calculator Video 1332. (This is the screenshot of the video with the timestamp 13:32. Notice the Else syntax on is exactly the same as mine, yet the video hostess is not getting an error message on the right pane of her screen.)

What could I be missing? Is there a bug in the system?

By the way, how do I get notifications?

Hello @johnantonacci4655991. Should you have a semicolon after the condition in your if else statement? The syntax looks like this:

else if (condition) {
//code
} 

Unfortunately, that’s not the issue. I already did that, & I’m still getting the same error message.

Did you remove the semicolon? This is a simplified version of your code that I can see in the screenshot:

r = 8;
if (r > 8) 

{ 
 console.log('h');   
}

else if (r == 8);

{
    console.log('j');
}

else

{
    console.log('l');
}

Which works when I remove the semicolon.

If that is not the problem, could you please post your full code. To format it, press this button:

and put the code between the back ticks:
Screen Shot 2020-05-02 at 14.06.13

const getSleepHours = day => 
{
  if (day === 'monday'){
    return 8;
  } else if (day === 'tuesday'){
    return 7;