I'm a teen looking to make programming my career. Where should I start?

Hi! I want to make coding my career, and hopefully make a living off of it in the future. I already know some HTML/CSS, and JavaScript. I came to Codeacademy to better prepare myself for other college programming courses I’ll be taking later.

I’m new to Codeacademy and not sure how the community or lessons work yet. Where should I start? And what programming languages should I learn first?

2 Likes

Hello @nitowl, welcome to the forums! If you pay for PRO, I would recommend taking the Web dev path-even though you know some HTML,CSS and JS, you can just skip over the parts you already know. This paths teaches you each language, and then teaches you how to apply them to making a website. Otherwise, you could just take any course on a specific language that you want to learn.

1 Like

Hi there! Welcome to the forums :grinning:

I am Yiz, I am also a teen looking to make programming my career. (Although I’m also into art, writing and chemistry).

I like this little quiz thingy that Codecademy offers you to try and see which languages suit you best. Of course the answer is probably not going to be 100% accurate, but you can at least get an idea.

I started off with Python, which I think is mainly used for Data Science. After that I learned Java, because I got into Android Development (although now, if you wanna get into Android Development, I suggest you learn Kotlin first).

I also know some HTML, CSS and JavaScript, like you. Although I haven’t really put my knowledge to good use yet :sweat_smile:

Well I hope all my rambling gave you an idea of where to start lol :sweat_smile: :upside_down_face:

If you ever need help with anything, you can always ask here in the forums, there are plenty of people willing to help :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

@yizuhi
Thank you so much!