I get git, but I don't get git. Why get git?

Ok, so right upfront, I’ve taken the beginner Python course, and am currently finishing up the building a website with HTML and CSS and GitHub pages course. I’m new to coding, having only been learning this for a year or so at this point, but for the most part I’m understanding it.

One thing I haven’t been able to really understand though, is the “why” of git.

I understand that it can be used to build a repository, but that really seems to be the go-to answer to what it’s for. As a beginner, that doesn’t really tell me anything.

I’ve looked at articles, I’m getting a beginner’s grasp on the command line and how to create/stage/commit with git, but I still don’t know why I would use it instead of something like VScode when I’m looking at creating code.
I’ve seen a few articles expressing frustration over why people skip learning git, and I think this may be a core reason. Without understanding the “why” many will not see the need for the “how”.

Can anyone explain to me, in laymen’s terms, what the purpose of git is? I’m looking for something more clarifying than “to create repositories for GitHub”.

Thanks in advance for any and all clarifying input :bowing_man:

4 Likes

Git is about version control.

• you can roll back to working versions of your code
  • you can therefore have different “branching versions” so this is great for modular testing in larger structures.
  • invaluable tool when working as a team, since it can be micromanaged and people can work on different bits without stepping on each other’s toes.