I can't seem to figure out how to implement a "prompt"

I'm new to the JavaScript language and I'm trying to use prompt command for this statement:

("Where are you from?")

using this statement:
var=window.prompt("What is your name");

The statement says: Syntax Error: Unexpected Identifier.

Any suggestions?

var yourPrompt = prompt("What is your name");

first you state the name of your variable:

var yourPrompt

then you set it equal to a prompt

Note

yourPrompt could be anything, whatever you want the variable name to be :slightly_smiling:

Hope that helped :sunny:

I typed the statement prompt for the training exercise for JavaScript, but it still doesn't allow me to move to the next lesson. It displayed the statement :

Sorry didn't get the chance to finish typing. The error message said: Oops, something went wrong. Try again. Are there any errors in the this prompt example?

Can you show us your full code please?

var place=prompt("Where are you from?");

What lesson are you doing?

I am working on Lesson 9.

Lesson 9 is not asking you to set the prompt to a variable. Take a look at the examples they give you. All you have to do with your current code is delete 3 things and you can move on to the next lesson :slightly_smiling:

If you still cannot figure it out, let me know!

I typed this statement on the lesson: prompt("Where are you from?");
When I try to save and submit code, this error message appeared on my screen:
Oops. Try again. Something went wrong with your prompt.

Try refreshing your browser. Your code works fine for me on Lesson #9.

Is it possible that my version of windows or Internet access is preventing me from executing the code?

It might be an issue with your browser. Try on different browser types or different computers.

Thanl new for the esxgace devueovredue.