How to remember SQL commands

Hello everyone, I just started learning SQL, Although it looks straightforward to follow the instruction and do exercises but how can I remember all the SQL query commands? if anyone have some tips to remember them please share with me.

thanks

Hello @amritdhillon39011841 ,

I feel it is like anything, the more you use the commands, you start to remember them.

Here is a link to a forum question on other commonly used SQL Commands:

Are there any other commonly used SQL commands? - FAQ / SQL FAQ - Codecademy Forums

Codecademy also has SQL summary:
https://www.codecademy.com/article/sql-commands

1 Like

Hi Amritdhillon,

SQL commands are categorized into five categories:

1. Data Definition Language (DDL) - used to define the database schema. List of DDL commands:
  • CREATE - This command is used to create the database or its objects (like table, index, function, views, store procedure, and triggers).
  • DROP - This command is used to delete objects from the database.
  • ALTER - This is used to alter the structure of the database.
  • TRUNCATE - This is used to remove all records from a table, including all spaces allocated for the records are removed.
  • COMMENT - This is used to add comments to the data dictionary.
  • RENAME - This is used to rename an object existing in the database.
  1. Data Query Language (DQL) - used for performing queries on the data within schema objects. List of DQL:
  • SELECT - It is used to retrieve data from the database.
  1. Data Manipulation Language (DML) - deals with the manipulation of data present. List of DML commands:
  • INSERT - It is used to insert data into a table.
  • UPDATE - It is used to update existing data within a table.
  • DELETE - It is used to delete records from a database table.
  • LOCK - Table control concurrency.
  • CALL - Call a PL/SQL or JAVA subprogram.
  • EXPLAIN PLAN - It describes the access path to data.