How to not get bored with coding?

I started coding around a month ago with the analyzing financial data with python course because I am a junior in high school and want to do finance when I am in college. Around 2 weeks in, I got very bored and took a 2 week break. I am restarting and trying to stay into it, but I’m not sure how. Does anyone have any tips on how to not get bored? Am I doing it wrong? Should I try a new course?

1 Like

Hello @zisto, welcome to the forums! If you’re getting bored, you should ask, why? If it is because the content is too easy, then maybe just do a quick course with SQL, and move on to something else (you can always revisit things later if you want to!). If you’re bored because you just don’t like the subject matter, then I would absolutely change course. Even if you wanted to stick my analytical languages, you could learn Python, and then Pandas, which might be more interesting since you’re learning a full language, then a library. Or you could learn R.
Happy coding!

1 Like

“We who cut mere stones must always be envisioning cathedrals”. - Quarry worker’s creed (from the Pragmatic Programmer)

A suggestion that helps me (I have to study it about 6+hours plus a day) is that jargon is your worst enemy. It literally alienates you from the reality of what you’re doing. Take the time to understand words and give them a context that you find exciting or meaningful. In high school I’ll be honest SQL was the worst for me, but now that I’m relearning it’s not so bad, because let my mind imagine structures and stories as to what it can add up to.

Also, try to sprinkle different aspects here and there for variety (so a little SQL one day, Python the other etc.

But definitely don’t try forcing the issue, I ended up hating coding for the longest time but I think personally it was just due to my mindset being very rigid.

2 Likes

Thanks! I think I’ll try something else for awhile.

1 Like