How to make my for loop skip index 1 and 2 from the combined arrays (javascript)

var x = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
var y = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
var z = [x,y]
z.forEach(element => {
for(var i=0;i<z.length;i++){
if( i ===1 || i===2 ){
continue;

} else{
    console.log(z[i]);
}

You’d test the index wouldn’t you? And if they’re different indexes then you’d test both?

Looks like you’re iterating through one, and then the other. So really, at any time you’re only iterating through one array, aren’t you? Not sure what you mean with combined.

Maybe you mean to get a product of the two arrays, like the coordinates for a grid. But if so, then you should probably make sure that you’re doing that before you start thinking about making skips. Solve one problem before moving on to the next one.

Thanks for the reply ionatan.
I am new to javascript I was actually getting weird infinite loop which made me to start trying things out of frustration . The below code actually worked now …maybe something is wrong with my laptop.
var x = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
var y = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
var z = [x,y]
z.forEach(element => {
for(var i=0;i<element.length;i++){
if( i ===1 || i===2 ){
continue;

} else{
    console.log(element[i]);
}

}

});

Well, it’s not the same code, so it’s not by some fluke that it behaves differently.
I think it should be written this way instead:

const x = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]
const y = [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9]

for (let i = 0; i < x.length; i++) {
  if (i != 1 && i != 2) {
    console.log(x[i])
  }
}

for (let i = 0; i < y.length; i++) {
  if (i != 1 && i != 2) {
    console.log(y[i])
  }
}

Or make a function to do the looping, and call it for x and then y (to avoid writing the same loop twice)

Why not just start your loop at i=2?

for (let i = 2; i < x.length; i++) {
    console.log(x[i]);
}