How to learn effectively from Codeacademy?

I am new to codeacademy and I want to ask : What is the best way to gain the most from Codeacademy ? When I learn, do i need to take notes or anything else
Thank everyone

2 Likes

At the end of the day it’s kind of personal to you. I quite like taking notes alongside the lessons (initially on paper with some cleaner examples saved to scripts on the computer). Occasionally I’ll repeat lessons that I didn’t quite understand at a later date or even just abandon the course for a while until I get the concept down.

Just make sure you understand each lesson, it’s possible to barrel through them without taking much in for a sense of accomplishment but what you really need is to take as long as it takes just to take in each concept properly. The less I understand the more notes I take. Occasionally I’ll also write my own code snippets to test out something new as making use of something you just learned can also be a great way to take something in.

Others may learn in a different way though. You just need to find what’s best for you and don’t just gloss over things you didn’t quite understand, that’s far too easy. At the least least they should be earmarked for a recap once you complete that section. You could do it on the fly lesson by lesson but sometimes the bits you didn’t understand are covered in the next lesson or something, just make sure to revisit it as soon as possible so it’s nice and fresh.

7 Likes

This, 100%.

I also take notes and if I don’t understand something presented in the lessons then I google it and read up on it elsewhere until it makes sense to me.

6 Likes

I think it helps to set a goal and stay consistent. We forget what we don’t use! How much do we remember from high school lessons, for example?