How to apply what I have learned so far in Codecademy?

Hi team! So I have been learning Python via Codecademy and I had a question regarding reallife application. How do I apply what I have learned about Python to real life? I am a student just going into high school and have recently started coding. My plan is to thoroughly learn as many programming languages as I can so that I am better equipped for jobs in the future. Also, I would love to have at least one published app before graduating high school. So, back to my original question… how can I use my knowledge of the Python language (and others which I will learn after Python) in real life? Do I download and try to figure out how to set up an IDE? Just stick to Codecademy until a job opportunity comes up? Just focus on learning as many languages as possible?

This exercise (https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/lessons/python-control-flow/exercises/if-statements) in particular is what drove me to post this question. How would I incorporate this piece of code in a computer’s code? Could this be applied to reallife? Do people actually add this type of code into their devices?

1 Like

Hello @julia_ayrapetyan. I good way to practise what you’ve learnt is to do small projects-star off small, and get to longer projects as you get better.

An example would be-write code that can tell me if the input provided matches the text I want it to. Then you can build on that-create a function that contains that code, and checks a thousand (or whatever number you like) pieces of text. Make this an object, and apply this object on another project. Try and make projects open ended, so you can continue to build on them as you acquire more skills.

A website that is quite good for finding interesting challenges on is Codewars. It gives you small projects to complete that gets you looking at the docs, etc for more info/built in methods.