How important is it to have concise code, and at what point does it become bad to sacrificing readability for it?

Hey everyone, JS beginner here trying to learn as much as I can to hopefully find a job later down the line.
I’m trying to make sure that I complete exercises in an efficient way and follow any important conventions for projects that would potentially end up being portfolio worthy and to just have good habits for my future job.

exercise 3 greetAliens() : Write a function that takes in an array of strings and uses a loop to print a greeting with each string in the array.

The function should return the following:
“Oh powerful [stringElement], we humans offer our unconditional surrender!” for every element.

I challenged myself to make this as concise as possible and try to get it to accept as many inputs. Ended up losing all readability but it’s pretty short. My question is as you read in the title.

const greetAliens = (…args) => args.forEach(i => console.log(Oh powerful ${i}, we humans offer our unconditional surrender!));

greetAliens(“Blorgous”, “Glamyx”, “Wegord”, “SpaceKing”);

side note: I’d really appreciate any experienced people who can share skills you have discovered that are most appreciated or tasks that you are most commonly given, Thank you and best regards friends.

-accel

You can find some helpful info on this with a Google search - these are a few things I found:

Is Elegant JavaScript Always Performant? Concise vs. Fast Code Explained

Code readability matters

Code readability vs conciseness

Readability vs Conciseness?

2 Likes

Thank you. This was very helpful

Readability should always be a primary concern while working within the framework of best practices.