How does python create an empty list?

This is my best guess.

I think that it might help to look at it like you’re making cuts in a piece of rope. Each split is a cut. So in the case of “mississippi”, “iss” makes two cuts. if you cut a piece of rope twice you will have three pieces. In the case of “apple” and “pp”, the rope will be cut once, so two pieces in this case.

How does Python generate an empty element in the case of “mississippi” and “iss”? You got me. but in makes sense in the rope analog.

Maybe someone with a better understanding of Python’s inner workings can shed some light on the subject.

Moderator Note: this post was originally in response to this post - which is now moved to the bottom of this thread for posterity

2 Likes

There is nothing between 'iss' and 'iss', which gets translated to ''. Everything between the separators is still a string.

Do you know how python does this?

If I was a C++ programmer I would, so no. I understand what is happening, is all.

1 Like

No such thing as an empty element, what’s empty is the string, a lack of elements, not an empty one

there’s nothing special about it, if anything empty is the simplest case

like you pointed out, you will end up with one more piece than the amount of splits you made. splitting zero times results in one piece (also using zero, but also not special, there isn’t a at-least-once requirement, nor is 1 the smallest natural number)

what would be special is -1, there you’d run into some real problems.

Interesting. Do you know what is used as a place holder for an empty string in this case?

But isn’t it? 0 is not a natural number, but undefined. On the number line it is both Integer and Real.

That’s my point.
Nothing special needs to happen.

If you put blueberries in a basket, what is the first state of the basket?
Of course it’s a natural number.

What amount does a ruler start counting at?

What speed do you have when you begin moving?