How do you use Variables and for what?

Hi so I am pretty new to coding like in java as I used blocks (cuz it’s easy and fun) but now that I am starting to learn a bit of javascript I really want to know what I should be using variables for because I honestly don’t really understand them. In one of the lessons or activities it says something about using variables and doing stuff like for example

let myName = 'Aram' let myCity = 'LosAngeles' console.log(`My name is ${myName} My favorite city is ${myCity}`);

I didn’t really understand why we need the dollar sign or why we need the {} also what do they do in this and why do we need the things if you could answer my questions it would be greatly appreciated

At the start of the school year we generally organize our courses into binder form with tabs upon which we write the name of each course. Those tabs are variables and denote the section of our binder where all the material relating to it are kept.

Objects occupy memory. Variables tell us where in memory that an object is stored (for the most part). They are labels.

Maybe your dad has a bolt bin in the garage or shop. That’s memory. The slots are where we keep bolts of a certain size. To each bin, or slot, is affixed a label describing the size. That is a variable.

_3x9mm24tpi

Variables describe the object they refer to, or can at least be deciphered to a description. Above we have described a three inch bolt with a shaft of 9 millimeters and twenty-four threads per inch.

1 Like

So basically what you are saying is that variables are like folders for keeping information such as strings and values?

1 Like