How do You Cope?

I’m not even certain this is how to approach this, but do you people find this difficult: the learning? Every time I visit the academy, i go away feeling stupid(er) and hopeless. Nothing gets through to me! So, please, how do you cope with this kind of frustrations?

6 Likes

Hey there! I get how feel, I’ve been through it. I recently wrote an article on Dealing with Frustration While Learning to Code, so you can check that out if you want :slightly_smiling_face:

Also I just want to tell you, please do not give up. Coding can be really hard at times but the key is persistence. And if ever need help with anything, you can always come here to the forums and ask for help :slightly_smiling_face:

Hope this helped you! :grinning:

6 Likes

Hey!:wave: I’m so very thankful you took time to reply! And yes this helped. A lot.:slight_smile:

3 Likes

So glad it did :relaxed:

1 Like

Hi, I’ve been getting back into coding.

I’m a professional musician. I still remember what it was like to begin as a beginner. Let me tell you, that feeling of not knowing everything, or that things aren’t clicking perfectly doesn’t really go away.

What can go away is the anxiety that it’s a bad thing! New things take time to click even when you’ve been in a field for a long time. Being kind to yourself and giving yourself the time you need to fully digest information is the best advice I can recommend (along with sticking to it!).

4 Likes

We all have different learning styles and preferences. Some times it’s not about how smart you are, but the way it was explained to you. I’m sure you’ve heard of how some people are more “visual learners” while others are more “auditory learners”. Some prefer to write it down on paper long hand, while others swear by voice notes.