How do I make myself think and write code like a programmer?

Hi guys, I have a question… I started learning the basics of JavaScript yesterday on codecademy and I am absorbing knowledge fairly quickly (I still make couple mistakes of course, but that’s not what I am worried about).

I just did the ‘dog years’ problem to test my knowledge in variables and before following the instructions on the left I wanted to see if I could solve the problem on my own.

Good news is that I was able to arrive to the correct answer, bad news is that my code looks horrible compared to the step by step instructions.

How do I make myself think and write code like a programmer? I am concerned about this. I am attaching a screenshot with both codes so you can see what I mean.

Thank you for any advice.

You just started yesterday and you’re putting this much pressure on yourself? You’ve got to cut yourself some slack here. Do you have previous programming experience?
Learning to think computationally isn’t instantaneous. It takes time and practice/repetition. Honestly? Try to not worry so much right now. Keep up a routine-set aside a couple hours a day and learn. Take notes, write code examples, whatever works for you. But also learn to take breaks and do something else. You’ll get there… but you’ll get stuck and frustrated and that’s okay! Everybody does. It’s part of the process. Keep at it. :slightly_smiling_face:

8 Likes

I’ll add to Lisa’s great answer which is all true.

I think it’s useful to know you’re not expected perfection on the first go-around. So it’s pretty normal to have the mindset: “ok, I did it as best as I know how, but there’s always the chance I might miss something”. Code review is a thing and nobody writes perfect code every time (a junior dev can find a mistake in a team lead’s code change for example).

It’s a team sport at the end of the day (in many settings, excluding solo endeavors).

5 Likes