How did you learn to understand something that you were really struggling with?

Hi all,

I’m currently studying the Front End Developer career path. I have completed the HTML element and I feel I grasped it pretty well, but to be honest I’m struggling with CSS, more specifically Selectors. It’s the seemingly random syntax that I don’t get - some start with a period, some start with a hashtag. And I can’t get my head around why and when I would need them during a project.

Has anyone else struggled with Selectors? If you were stuck on something else, how did you finally grasp the concept?

Hi, Rick!

When I first started, I also struggled with remembering which selectors to use. Thankfully, I’ve done enough repetition to remember which are which. Right now I’m working on getting as comfortable with combinators. There are a lot of resources online and the MDN Web Docs have a lot of useful information that I use as well! The link I provided will take you to their informational page on CSS selectors. From there, you can choose to read up on the kind of selector that you are having trouble with.

Edit* Also, something you may also want to look at is CSS Specificity!

Happy coding!

1 Like

Hi there. It’s OK that you struggle with CSS after HTML. The more you practice, the more comfortable you will get with it.
Selectors are actually very handy. Class selectors are used to group different elements to apply the same styling to them. Imagine, you have a page where you have an h2 heading, h3 heading and 2 paragraphs, but you want to style h2 and one of the paragraphs in red color, and the rest in green. You would probably use a class selector (the one with a period) to accomplish this task. So, your HTML would look like that:

<h2 class="red">I'm red</h2>
<p class="red">I'm red</p>
<h3 class="green">I'm green</h3>
<p class="green">I'm green</p>

And your CSS like this:

.red {
color: red;
}
.green {
color: green;
}