How can we get the average of unique values of a column?

Question

In SQL, how can we get the average of only the unique values of a column?

Answer

To run the AVG() function on a column such that it only averages the unique values in the column, we could use the DISTINCT clause right before the column name.

Example

/* Returns 2.02365 */
SELECT AVG(price)
FROM fake_apps;

/* Returns 4.15833.. */
SELECT AVG(DISTINCT price)
FROM fake_apps;
19 Likes

Then, how does the data know what is the distinct value in Price Column? How do they differentiate unique value in that column and label it as a distinct value and then carry forward with the average caculation?

6 Likes

Hello yiwen. I’m not an expert but I hope I can help you.
when you run the following code:

SELECT price
FROM fake_apps;

the return is all the values in the column price. If you apply the AVG on it, you’ll have the total average. Nothing new here.

If you run the following code:

SELECT DISTINCT price
FROM fake_apps;

The return is all the distinct values on the column. Also, nothing new.

and so, the following:

FROM fake_apps;

First the distinct will return the distinct ones and then the AVG is calculated based on that return. So the average is not calculated over the rows in price, but over the rows of the new table returned by the distinct.

Hope it helps

60 Likes

Hello, can I calculate the average in price column of distinct values in another column, like name ? Thanks in advance.

4 Likes

This will give you your solution for average in price column of distinct values in Category column:

SELECT Category, AVG(price)
FROM fake_apps
GROUP BY category;

9 Likes

This can be achieved using WHERE statement right?

1 Like

can you please explain what
SELECT DISTINCT AVG(price) would return?
what is the difference between SELECT AVG(DICTINCT price) and the above one?