How can I correct my export PATH from Pipenv video?

Hello- I am new to programming and was working on the Learn Python 3 course, Modules section, Learn Python: Pipenv video. I encountered a problem when trying to change my export PATH. I’m not sure what I did incorrectly, but I am unable to access pipenv and when I open my Terminal, I get the following message:

-bash: dirname: command not found
-bash: export: =': not a valid identifier -bash: export: /Users/jeremy/.local/bin:/Users/jeremy/opt/anaconda3/bin:/bin:/condabin:/Users/jeremy/opt/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/bin:PATH’: not a valid identifier

Any help would be great! Thanks

Hi!

What exactly did you type?

To check if your export is working you can try typing something like

>>> export TESTING=hello
>>> echo $TESTING
hello
1 Like

Hi! thanks for your help- i was able to return “hello” with this command, so that worked.

I think that I initially created the issue when i input spaces before and after the ‘=’ in the export PATH command from the video instructions. But then I messed around with it, trying different paths/directories, so I’m not sure how to fix it now.

You can always edit your bash profile (check which file this is depending in your OS) and source it if you just want to export a PATH command.

Thanks- I tried editing my bash_profile (I’m not sure if I’m doing this correctly or just screwing it up more). I now get the error message:

-bash: /Users/jeremy/.bash_profile: line 16: syntax error: unexpected end of file

When I input vim ~/.bash_profile, this is what comes up:

>>> conda initialize >>>

!! Contents within this block are managed by ‘conda init’ !!

__conda_setup="('/Users/jeremy/opt/anaconda3/bin/conda' 'shell.bash' 'hook' 2> /dev/null)" if [ ? -eq 0 ]; then
eval “$__conda_setup”
else
if [ -f “/Users/jeremy/opt/anaconda3/etc/profile.d/conda.sh” ]; then
. “/Users/jeremy/opt/anaconda3/etc/profile.d/conda.sh”
else
export PATH="/Users/jeremy/opt/anaconda3/bin"

unset __conda_setup