Help with Nested Elements (Learn CSS course)

Hey, sorry if this is posted in the wrong place or has been covered somewhere else, I’m a newbie and just started using codeacademy only recently.

I’m on slide 13/17 (Nested Elements) in the Learn CSS course and am confused why my input needs to be this:

.description h5 {
color: teal;
}

when I had a “similar looking” input earlier on in my code:

h2.destination {
font-family: cursive;
}

What is the difference in functions between these 2 pieces of code? Don’t they both target respective classes for given elements h5 and h2? When should I use one vs. the other?

Thanks in advance.

*Edit: is it the fact that the first “prioritizes” the .description elements nested only in h5, whereas the second “prioritizes” all the h2 elements? Still kind of confused…

Please post a link to the exercise. Thanks.

The above selector targets any H5 that is a descendant of the ‘.description’ class.

The above selector targets any H2 with a class name, destination.

The two are very different from one and another.

Well, here’s the URL of the slide 13 webpage I was talking about, don’t know if it’ll work though:

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-css-selectors-visual-rules/lessons/css-setup-selectors/exercises/nested-elements?action=lesson_resume&course_redirect=learn-css

Here’s the URL of the course:

https://www.codecademy.com/learn/learn-css

I’m doing CSS Setup and Selectors.

Think I understand what you mean, thanks.

Compare these two…

<div class="description">
    <h5>description subheading</h5>
</div>
<h2 class="destination">Destination</h2>

Ok, got it.

So is a descendant like h5 mean that it’s just written directly under the description class, indented in, like your example?

And sorry this is super elementary, but I’m sort of getting mixed up between HTML and CSS. HTML elements have tags which contain attributes, while the terminology in CSS is tags contain classes, and ID is an attribute?