Help With List Search

I have created a database that allows a user to create a new product entry, modify an existing one, and import and export the entire database. However, I am stuck on the search function. When I search for a specific entry by “machine” it will only print the first entry on the list that matches the criteria rather than all entries that match what the user has input. I am somewhat new to Python and this is the last component of my personal project that I need to finish it. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the link to my project with the text document that can be imported into the program.

https://www.codecademy.com/workspaces/625088226d95c17c50e5668f

1 Like

Hello, @mjack360, and welcome to the forums.

def search_Machine(machine):
    findIdex = 0
    for i in buckets:
        if i[1] == machine:
            return findIdex # you are returning the first matching index only
        findIdex += 1
    return -1

Rather than returning the first matching index, you’d probably want to build a list or something with all of the matching indeces, and return that. Then you could iterate through that list, printing the elements.

Aside: In your code, you use the line import os many, many times. You only need to import it once. Typically we import necessary tools at the top of our code.

How would I go about doing that? That’s the part I am stuck on. I need it to return all the values that match the user’s input.

Regarding the import, you’re saying just put the import os at the very top and then use the os.system('cls' if os.name == 'nt' else "printf '\033c'") where needed?

Second question first, Yes.

First question, you could do it in a similar manner to how you made your list of buckets.

def import_bkt(fname):
    temp = []
    fopen = open(fname, "r")
    for line in fopen:
        line = line.strip(' ')
        if len(line) != 0:
            line = line.split(',')
            temp.append(line)
    fopen.close()