Help pulling data from Excel using JavaScript - can this be done?

Hi, I’m a pretty much brand-new developer looking to expand my knowledge and learn new skills. I’ve just complete the Introduction to JavaScript course and now I’m starting the Building Interactive JavaScript Websites course.

I’m also running a sweepstake based on the Formula One season which involves players choosing a driver for each race, and I could really use a way for them to see who they’ve used and make their next picks without my help - there are 54 of us this year and it’s taking more time than I expected!

I have all the data in an Excel spreadsheet, so what I want to do is build a webpage that does this:

1. Player chooses their name from a list/drop-down
  2. Code pulls in the relevant data from Excel - which drivers they’ve already used - as a JavaScript array
  3. Code compares an array of the full driver list to the array of the player’s chosen drivers, and returns a third array of the drivers still available to choose.
  4. Player selects their next driver (this might need to be by emailing me their choice, but that’s OK).

I’ve Googled a lot but haven’t found a way to do this - specifically to pull certain cells from an Excel file. Is it possible?

Any help appreciated!

Thanks

You could save your excel file in csv format and pull the data from the csv with Javascript. That can be done with the FileReader object.

I haven’t understood where you plan to store the excel file. You’d either need to get that from a server or let the user chose the file from their machine with an input field of type=‘file’.

You get a string from the file reader object. That can be split at commas and new line (.split('\n')). That way you could get certain fields from the table.

1 Like