if sth == item:
            result += 1 
            sequence.remove(item)
        else:
            return 0
    return result

immediately in the function you are erasing "sequence" o.O

you don't need the sequence = [] line

edit: also your else return 0 doesn't seem to be needed but maybe i misunderstand your code

Thanks could you help me on the next lesson:
Purify

def purify(a):
    for x in a:
        if x % 2 != 0:
            a.remove(x)
    return a

Whats wrong

You have to add a par = [] ( most likely, but I am not entirely sure ).

Also in your if statement you have to check if the 2 equals the 0.

Afer this you need an .append statement instead of a remove one.

Last but not least you have to return par and not a.

i have no experience programming but his worked for me:
1. set a variable to zero - this variable will represent "how many times the element is counted"
2. the for loop starts the iteration (for i in sequence:), if an individual iteration value matches the item value (if i == item:), then add one to your variable
3. then return the new value of the variable you assigned

def count(sequence, item):
found = 0
for i in sequence:
if i == item:
found += 1
return found

Honestly I feel like this should work.... o.O

In my own solution as nilswanicki said, I made a separate "pure" list and just added elements if they weren't already in it (used an "if not in") but tracing yours by hand I can't actually figure out why it won't work :confused: I'm doing it in my own interpreter to see what happens

It appears to only be removing every OTHER odd number. So if 1 odd, it removes it. If 2, it only removes 1, and leaves 1. If 3, it leaves 1. If 4 or 5 it leaves 2 behind. If 6 or 7 it leaves 3 behind. :thinking:

I think I got it by researching a bit (here) what the for-each does.