Help me understand JavaScript

Hello guys! I don’t have a specific question about JS , but it JS related. I decided to be a web developer and right now I am studying , but the problem is I often catch myself not being able to understand the JS concept for like 10 minutes , or like not being able to solve the task whitout a hint or a help and after that I just explore everything and write down some things. I don’t really know if I am stressing too much , or this is normal but sometimes I feel like everybody thinks JS is easy , but I get lost in arrays , functions and loops… Is that normal in the studying process ? Is somebody else feeling the same way? I just cannot memorise all the code , methods and syntax … Do you have any tips and tricks how to be effective with my studying? Thank you.

1 Like

Hello! I am working through the front end career path and am at 30%. learning the JS is probably faster for me-- I approximate that it takes me about 30s-1 min to really understand new syntax (like let vs var vs const or the arrow inline function declaration syntax) and 2 min for algorithmic concepts like Array,prototype.reduce(), any of the lodash method implementations or other algorithms. However, I have been programming in java and c++ and python for some time! If js is your first programming language, then the concepts are completely new to you and far less intuitive than someone who knows a few more languages already. The position you find yourself in right now is one where you are learning more rapidly than any seasoned programmer. Your learning curve is logistic growth and your intuition and completion time for coding tasks is the inverse of your learning curve. Don’t worry. JS is your template for learning all coding languages in the abstract! Also, know that vanilla javascript is much harder to use than javascript with a library like jquery.