Help installing python on pc (windows)

Hi, I’m very new to coding so forgive me if I’m being a bit dense!
I’m trying to follow the instructions provided on https://www.codecademy.com/articles/install-python3 to correctly install python but I’m having some issues that I hope some one can help me with.
I’ve downloaded and installed python 3.8 and miniconda as per the instructions, but I’m stuck with simply checking the version and conda list as suggested by the guide.
When I type python --version into both CMD and powershell, I am not given a response by the terminal. I have run the same command using Bash and get a permission denied response.
I used chmod to get around this in Bash and it did return the response, so I tried to continue using Bash to finish the guide, however when prompted to type conda list, Bash returns bash: conda: command not found.
I tried continuing the guide to test executing my first script as per the guide’s instructions and was able to create and add code to the test file mycode.py, however when I tried to call it in Bash I got another permission denied message.
I googled this and so tried to use the su or sudo commands but get the response bash: su: command not found so now I have no idea what to do.
I tried to install jupyter too and got a massive amount of red text with and error at the bottom ERROR: Command errored out with exit status 1: python setup.py egg_info Check the logs for full command output.
I’m probably missing something obvious but its bothering me that I can’t seem to just check this simple information!
Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

What exactly are you trying to install or do?