Help! Don't know what language would be appropriate!

Hey there! I’m a graphic designer and I know some CSS and HTML but I had an idea to complement a project and don’t know how to make it happen! I don’t mind learning a new language or learning how to make it but don’t know what direction to go and don’t even know if it’s possible to do what I want. So here it goes - is it possible to have an app where you can write something (small text) and then upload a sound or a song that interferes with the font?

Basically write something like “PEACE” and the font is normal but when you upload or choose the song it alters the aspect of the font like a glitch while it plays, different results for different pitches ( ex . https://creators.vice.com/en_us/article/4x4eeb/glitched-helvetica-the-kraftwerk-inspired-kwerk-and-other-unusual-typefaces)

(ex. https://www.behance.net/gallery/8773991/Glitch-Type)

is this possible?

any help would be more than welcome.

The font pattern would have to be written to a <canvas> element. Cache the original pattern so the canvas can be restored. Given that, we can go to town on the bitmap elements. The language associated with the canvas element is JavaScript (JS) or more to current day, ECMAScript 6++, or ES6, ES7, …

Process.js goes a long way to give graphics programming a human language. It is, like jQuery, a library that extends and abstracts the standard ES library. It takes some learning; and, awareness of what it is abstracting makes the lessons mean more. Work with the canvas in native code until it gets real comfortable before making the leap to the library. After that, power on and happy coding.

Given that we now have a graphical interface that we have complete control over, yes. It comes down to us writing the event listeners and their handlers, amongst which will be a real time audio graph that we can use as a data source for the visual effects parameters.