Having troubles and self doubt

Hey everyone, I just wanted to talk to some devs and people in the same boat as me and hopefully pull myself out of a rut!

I’m 22% into my front-end engineer course, prior to this I have no coding experience.

I’ve been getting on really well and flying through the course however I’ve suddenly gone very foggy and feel like everything I’ve learnt has became muddled up in my head. Has anyone had a similar experience? I guess its fairly normal to have a bit of an overworked feeling when learning something as intense and detailed as software development, or at least I hope.

Maybe worth noting I am working as a mechanical engineer full-time and doing this on my evenings, so I’m usually pretty tired by the time my laptops fired up.

any tips or advice is very welcome!

Thanks for reading:)

3 Likes

Being overwhelmed and feeling like one’s brain is a sieve is normal (and definitely frustrating).
Perhaps take a little more time, rather that speed through the course material(?) Make sure the concepts you’re learning are solidified before moving on to the next lesson. You’re not racing against anyone and you (everyone) should go at their own pace. If you’re stuck, post your formatted code and ask questions here. There are people of all skill levels who will try to help if they can. :slight_smile:
Also, practice on your own. Create your own projects. Write the code and break it to figure out how it works. Sometimes taking notes with code examples is also helpful.

6 Likes

Thank you Lisa, I appreciate your words! I was getting flustered with grid and flexbox and the concept of using both together, however after a couple days of revising and YouTube videos I feel like its finally making sense:) I’ve got a couple practice projects I’m doing, which do definitely help applying it all to a real world application. I’ve gone through 2 notepads so far already so I agree notes definitely help!