Guide: Setting Up HTML/CSS/JS to Build Real Websites

About this Guide

I’m a developer and I’ve been tutoring new coders for years, I teamed up with some other people like me to make this guide to help beginners to start building their own websites on their own computers. Wanna know more about these guides (there are others), me, and why we made them? See here.

Making a Website

Before we start, we presume you already have a text editor set up and at least know about our getting started guide! Second, we also highly recommend that you take at least the first two lessons in the free HTML course and at least the first two lessons in the free CSS course before going forward. Though these aren’t necessary, you’ll be better off for it.

You don’t have to “install” JavaScript, HTML, or CSS, all you need are your text editor and a browser. We recommend Google Chrome.

How to Create a Website, a quick article for making local files for a site, is here.

The free make a website course is also very useful. Some of it won’t be new to you if you’ve taken the Codecademy HTML and CSS courses first, but that’s a good thing that we in fact recommend.

Linking two HTML pages is covered here.

Linking your HTML and CSS is something that trips up a lot of people. Take a few free exercises here and watch this video if you want to get a deeper understanding.

Linking your HTML and JS - take this short course. It’s Pro only right now but you can finish it in the free Pro trial if you need.

If after taking the make a website course you’re interested in using bootstrap on your own site, use this article to get a head start and with some advanced features here.

If you’re using Sass after taking the free Codecademy course, you can install it here.

Sharing Your Website

After taking make a website, take deploy a website for free too. Deploying to GitHub pages is a key part of this particular course, and it can be a bit tricky for beginners so read this and watch this for extra help.