Guide: How to Build a Web Dev Portfolio

How to Build a (Web Dev) Portfolio

About this Guide

I’m a developer and I’ve been tutoring new coders for years, I made this guide to help make sense of what pretty much everyone says you need to build when learning to code – a portfolio. Wanna know more about these guides (there are others), me, and why I made them? See here.

Context

For a 101 overview on how to build a portfolio, watch this:

The Main Page

A lot of portfolios have a single portfolio hosting “about me” site at their heart, something to showcase you and link out to your work, your LinkedIn, your contact details, and so on. If that interests you, read this and this for some tips.

Inspiration / From Design to Site

First, know that in software development, designers do more than graphic design or making things look pretty, they can define a lot of the interactive functionality and user experience. For more info on who does what on developer teams, I have a guide on that here.

If you’re looking for inspiration or to make portfolio pieces that are similar to what you’ll get on the job, try starting with taking designs and wireframes and making them into a websites. Watch this for info about how to turn designs into sites and this for more info on wireframes. Codecademy projects have lots of designs to follow, they include things like design specs which are industry standard (see here for one of my favorites). Find some more, free designs to bring to life here. You can also clone a website and modify it to practice your skills, or recreate something with the same functionality as a web app you use. Common examples of the latter include recreating Twitter (good full-stack JS video walkthrough of that here) or making a blog. Just because they’re common examples doesn’t make them bad.