Got a Job after 8 months with Codecademy on Data Science path

I just feel like I should share my story as a gratitude to Codecademy and encouragement for all fellow learners.

I started on the Data Science Path in December 2019 and got my first coding job (in August 2020) as Information Analyst working for NHS (National Health Service) in the UK. I was able to easily transition from using Pandas to Pyspark to analyse Big Data (Prescribing of Medicines and Hospital Admissions in England). Huge databases, trust me. The very first job I truly enjoy. I am 33 years old.

I hope not to bore anyone to death so will try to be brief, but here’s what I consider relevant:

• I am a MSc Psychology graduate of 2012 (solid base for scientific method and statistics when working on my research thesis)
  • I worked in HR, not really by choice but chance
  • I never considered coding as a career option
  • Me and my team colleagues were responsible for calculating employees’ annual leave which turned out to be challenging for some, including someone who worked in HR for 8 years. I asked them how they were able to do the job in their previous position and they explained they had a Excel calculator where they could input 3 pieces of information and output the result
  • I decided to create such a tool for the team and this is how it all started. I had to google some answers, learned about setting variables etc. I was hooked with how much I enjoyed working on that problem and realised this was a basis for coding.

I don’t recall where I first heard about Codecademy but it was at that time and it feels like Codecademy found me :slight_smile: