Codecademy Forums

Getting into Coding

Hi,

I am new to coding and to Codecademy and have a desire to create both web apps and mobile apps. However I am kind of confused.

Researching into coding is confusing because there are too many languages and frameworks flying around. I’m trying to narrow it down so that it all makes more sense. I have a few questions and hope you gurus can help me clarify and set me on the right path:

1. What is front end developer and what is back end developer and what’s the difference between them?

2. Where do Java, JavaScript, HTML, CSS, C#, SQL and Python fall into the above?

3. HTML and CSS are needed to make websites/web apps. Is it a case of choosing JavaScript or Python after those two to define the website/web app?

4. For mobile apps, android uses Java & iOS uses Swift but Python can be used for both. Besides a framework what else is needed?

5. Based on Question 4, to build websites/web apps we use HTML, CSS and either JS or Python. HTML gives skeleton, CSS gives shape and feel, JS/Python give user interaction. For mobile apps, what’s the equivalent for HTML and CSS?

6. Node.js seems to be the framework best for JS whilst Django seems the best framework for Python. Any other suggestions?

I would really appreciate if i could get these clarified. I’ve been googling for the last week and have ended up much more confused as I keep coming across different languages and frameworks and terminologies.

Thank you.

before i start answering this, i would like to disclaim i cut some corners for simplicity sake.

front-end is what you see on this webpage. When you make a topic on this website, the topic needs to be validated and stored. That is back-end.

backend: java, c#, sql, javascript (nodeJS) and python
front-end: html, css and javascript

yes, html are the structure of a page, css is styling and positioning. They are vital. But they are markup language, javascript is the only available front-end programming language