Game Programming?

I am looking for what career path that would involve using the most coding to help develop a game. I do not want to make my own games, I want to write the code to carry out someone else’s idea. Do I look into game programming? Game development? Some type of engineer? I’m new to the coding world so any help on where to start would be great! I did the quiz but it didnt really point me in the direction that I desire to go.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Why do people always assume such a question has a straight forward answer?

Making a game is very complicated, so there are pre-build engines you can use:

https://www.gamedesigning.org/career/video-game-engines/

each has there own pros and cons, use different programming language and varies in platform support.

Building everything from scratch would require massive resources, effort and time.

@stetim94 I’m more looking for a direction to start with. The only thing I know so far is I started a server for DayZ and began editing the game using init files, xml files etc and googled the crap on how to do it, realized I loved doing this type of thing and decided I wanted to pursue something of this nature. So I started to google more and my long complicated trail led me here. With no one to consult with on this subject, I have come to the community forums…

So I guess basically my question would be what career that type of thing would be, writing code for games. I do not want to make a game. I want to write code. And know how to do it properly. I am willing to learn multiple languages, study computer science, and whatever is necessary to do so, but I need to know exactly what I am working towards. I know generally what I want to do. I need a direction to go in so I can find more specifics and start to learn what I have to in order for my endeavor to be successful

1 Like