Game of Chance project

Hello,

I am new to coding and I am working a Python Project called Game of Chances. I am having a hard time getting my random number variable called sum_total to check for odd ad even numbers and give the proper result in my code. Currently if I choose an ‘odd’ argument the function always chooses the first if statement on line 50. If I choose the ‘even’ argument I get the else statement on line 52. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for taking the time to help me.

Game of Chance Project

def cho_han(guess, bet):
  num1 = random.randint(1,6)
  num2 = random.randint(1,6)
  sum_total = num1 + num2
  result = ''
  if sum_total == 1 or 3 or 5 or 7 or 9 or 11:
  	result = 'odd'
  else:
    #sum_total == 2 or 4 or 6 or 8 or 10 or 12:
    result = 'even'

if guess == result:
    return "Your dice roll was the number " + str(sum_total) + ". \n\nYour guess was an " + guess + " number.\n\nYou win " + str(bet) + " coins.\n\nYou now have " + str(money + bet) + " coins!"
  else:
    return "Your dice roll was the number "  + str(sum_total) + "! \n\nYour guess was an " + guess + " number.\n\nYou lose " + str(-bet) + " coins.\n \nYou now have " + str(money - bet) + " coins!"

print(cho_han('odd', 10))

Hello, @godsmafia. Welcome to the forum!
If you would paste your code into a post we could be of more help. Please click on the </> button in the menu bar, and then paste your code from the exercise into the space indicated. It will make it far easier for the rest of us to work with your code, and help you find the problem. Thanks!

1 Like

Hello midlindner,

Thank you for that tip. I did what you had mentioned. I look forward to your help and response.

This line won’t work like you’re expecting. You’ll need to apply one of these fixes:

if sum_total == 1 or sum_total == 3 or sum_total == 5 or sum_total == 7 or sum_total == 9 or sum_total == 11:

If you’re familiar with the modulo operator, this will do the same, and is much shorter: